International Graduate Teaching Assistant Orientation


August 21, 2024 - 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM E.T. (Lunch will be provided.)


Students NEW to U.S. and MSU and TEACHING



STEM Teaching Learning Facility (642 Red Cedar Rd), Room 2130 


Familiarize International Graduate Teaching Assistants with cultural differences in living, teaching, and learning in the U.S. as compared to their home countries. They will have the opportunity to interact with current International Graduate Teaching Assistants regarding navigating life, procedures. They will also be introduced to valuable resources.

International Graduate Teaching Assistants will be able to …

  • Describe how their home culture differs from the U.S. culture.
  • Compare and contrast how teaching in the U.S. differs to their experience in their home countries.
  • Articulate questions pertaining to navigating life, procedures, and resources in East Lansing and at MSU.
  • Acquaint themselves with services to help with adjustment to their new environment and role.


Time (All ET)


8:00 – 8:30 am


8:30 – 8:40 am

Welcome Int’l Graduate Teaching Assistants (GTAs)
Dean Pero Dagbovie, Dr. Stefanie Baier, Dr. Hima Rawal

8:40 – 9:10 am

Appreciation, Belonging, and Building Community at MSU
Presenters: Dr. Stefanie Baier and Dr. Hima Rawal

9:10 – 9:20 am


9:20 – 10:20 am

Teaching in the U.S. and the American Classroom
Presenter: Samara Chamoun

10:20 – 10:35 am


10:35 – 11:10 am

Introduction to Resources for GTAs
Employee Assistant Program, Health4U, English Language Center, GTA Teaching Learning Community, #iteachmsu, Center for Teaching & Learning Innovation, MSU Libraries, The Writing Center, Graduate Student Life & Wellness, OISS Resources Playlist

11:10 – 12:10 pm

The Path Forward: Experiences of International GTAs (Panel)
Moderator: Gloria J. Ashaolu

12:10 – 12:25 pm

The GTA Contract (Graduate Employees Union)

12:30 –  2:30 pm


This agenda was developed by Dr. Stefanie Baier with assistance from the GREAT Advisory Group including (in alphabetical order): Sewwandi Abeywardana, Gloria Ashaolu, Chase Bruggeman, Samara Chamoun, Arya Gupta, Seth Hunt, Saviour Kitcher, Tianyi Kou-Herrema, Hima Rawal.