Scholarship of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning (SUTL)


The MSU SUTL Fellows program is a collaboration between the Lyman Briggs College and the MSU Graduate School. Its primary goals are to provide a diverse group of graduate students committed to undergraduate education with:

  • experience conducting mentored research on undergraduate teaching and learning;
  • familiarity with contemporary instruction and assessment techniques; and
  • professional and career development opportunities related to undergraduate education.

Meeting these goals will result in Fellows who can make meaningful contributions to undergraduate education as practitioners of contemporary scholarly pedagogical methods, as well as contribute to scholarship related to undergraduate teaching and learning.

SUTL Fellows and Mentors

2019-2020 SUTL Fellows and Mentors at their year-start event August 2019. From left to right: Melissa Charenko, Lydia Wassink, June Oh, Katie Hinko, Monica Setien, Marisa Brandt, Corbin Livingston, Rebecca Lahr, Hebatalla Nazmy, Merve Kursav, Sunghwan Byun, Sam Cass, Cassie Dresser-Briggs, Rachel Barnard (SUTL Director), Michele Jackson (Dean, LBC), Shahnaz Masani, Peter White. Not pictured: Aesha Mustafa, Ryan Sweeder, Kendra Cheruvelil

Contact Us

Rachel Barnard
LBC SUTL Fellows Director