MSU PDA - Steering Committee

PDA Advisor


Tony Nunez (

Dr. Nunez is currently serving as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Post-doctoral Training in the Graduate School. He is also Co-PI of the National Science Foundation grant that supports the Center for Academic and Future Faculty Excellence.



Anne-Sophie Bohrer  ( - BMB liaison 

Anne-Sophie received her Ph.D. in Plant Biochemistry from the Paris-Sud University (France). She is currently a research associate in Dr. Hideki Takahashi’s lab in the BMB Department. Her research focusses on the regulation of sulfur metabolism and assimilation in the plant model Arabidopsis. She is also involved with the Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center (GLBRC) and works at optimizing the methods for the analysis of primary metabolism in Switchgrass. This is Anne-Sophie’s second year as co-chair of the MSU-PDA Steering Committee.


Sandra Hammer  ( - Physiology liaison 

Sandra received her Ph.D. in Cell and Developmental Biology from Vanderbilt University. Currently, she is a research fellow in the department of physiology under the mentorship of Dr. Julia Busik. Sandra’s research focuses on understanding the molecular mechanisms that cause dysregulation of cholesterol metabolism in diabetic retinopathy. This is Sandra’s second year as a co-chair of the MSU-PDA Steering Committee. 


Natalia Martin  ( - MMG liaison 

Natalia received her Ph.D. in Biological Sciences from the National University of Rosario, Argentina. Currently, she is a research associate in the DiRita laboratory at the Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Department, investigating the molecular mechanisms of pathogenesis in nosocomial bacterial pathogens. She has been involved in the MSU PDA for over two years, initially as a Member-at-Large and then as Chair of the Professional Development Committee. This is Natalia’s first year as co-chair of the MSU-PDA Steering Committee.

Professional Development Committee

Alessandra Hunt  (
Nate Emery (
Jeff Plegaria  (

Award Committee

Naresh Loganathan  ( - Chair
ReAnna S Roby  (

Senem Aykul (

Senem has been a research associate in Dr. Erik Martinez Hackert’s laboratory in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology department since 2017. She joined the graduate program in Biochemistry at Michigan State University in 2011 after completing dual bachelor degrees in Chemistry and Molecular Biology/Genetics at Bosphorus University in Istanbul, Turkey. Her postdoctoral research project is focused on investigating the extracellular regulation mechanisms of the Transforming Growth Factor-β (TGF-β) family ligands and defining the physiological consequences in different disease models including breast cancer and obesity.

Communication & Outreach Committee

Joshua Mike  ( - Chair

Kelsey Graham  (

Kelsey received her Ph.D. from Tufts University in Medford, MA, and now works in Dr. Rufus Isaacs' lab in the department of entomology researching pollinator health in Michigan. With this focus, she is interested in how wild bee populations have changed over time, and how landscape impacts diversity and abundance. She also works in blueberry to improve managed bee health by minimizing pesticide risk. 

Philipp Grete  (

Social Committee

Travis Hagey (
Alessandra Hunt  (
Philip Fanning  (

Digital Presence Committee


Christina Reppucci  ( - Chair

Christina received her Ph.D. in Psychology (Behavioral Neuroscience) from Boston College.  Currently, she is a research associate in the psychology department and neuroscience program under the mentorship of Dr. Alexa Veenema. Christina’s research focuses on delineating the neural systems underlying social motivation, and assessing whether these systems are differentially recruited in males and females. 

Nandan Tandon (


Amandine Roux ( - GR liaison 

Lauren Hardy  (

Lauren received her Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology from the University of Louisville in Louisville, KY. Currently, she is a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. James Luyendyk in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation. Lauren's research focuses on understanding the role of the blood coagulation factor fibrinogen in acute and chronic liver diseases.


Dafna Groeneweld  (

Dafna received her Ph.D. in Medicine from the Leiden University (The Netherlands). She is currently a postdoctoral research associate in Dr. Luyendyk’s lab in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation. Her research is focused on identifying the mechanisms whereby VWF contributes to acute and chronic liver disease in order to identify new therapeutic targets. This is Dafna’s first year as member-at-large of the MSU-PDA Steering Committee.

Jose Planta (
Johannes Weber  ( - CMSE liaison 

Jack Dragos  ( - FRIB liaison 

Jack received his Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics at the University of Adelaide, Australia. He currently works as a research associate in the theory department of the Facility for Rare Isotopes under the mentorship of Prof. Andrea Shindler. Jack primarily works on computing Lattice QCD observables to understand the structure of protons and neutrons from a subatomic level. 

Petra Telgkamp (telgkamp@msu.ed) - BME liaison