The Leadership in Innovative Teaching Award


The Leadership in Innovative Teaching Award was established in 2014 through an endowment. The donor’s objective in creating this award is to honor the first MSU woman President, Dr. Lou Anna K. Simon, an administrator who encouraged leadership in innovative teaching. The goal for the gift is to encourage College of Human Medicine students to design innovative approaches that facilitate the understanding of basic science and clinical knowledge.

The donor, Salah Karim Adel, MD FACOG, moved through the ranks to Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Cairo University Faculty of Medicine from 1952-1977. In 1977, by reciprocity, he became Clinical Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Wayne State University Medical Center until retirement in 2001. His wife Houria Suzy Hassouna began at MSU in 1980 teaching medical students, research and diagnostic service in thrombosis and bleeding disorders. She was a strong advocate for student leadership.

Some CHM students are high achievers and others struggle to get passing grades. A student who develops effective communications and learning methods that effectively enhance in other students the ability to excel qualifies for the scholarship award. The award recipient should be someone who has helped other CHM students reach their full academic potential.

Eligibility and Application Information

Students in good standing in the College of Human Medicine are eligible to apply for this award. Applicants must be registered in order to receive the award, which will be given in the form of a fellowship.

Two recipients will be selected in 2019-20. Each award will be $1,250. One recipient will be awarded in Spring Semester 2020; the other in Fall Semester 2020. The selection will be based on the goal/need and merit of the innovative practice(s), method(s), or learning resources implemented, the documented evidence of the impact, academic benefit, and implication of the these for student learning. 

Application deadline is November 22, 2019. Please complete the application form and email the form and required attachments to A selection committee consisting of CHM faculty and Graduate School staff will advise the Dean of the Graduate School on the selection of the awardees.

Funding of the award

The awardees will express acceptance and appreciation of the award in writing to The Graduate School prior to receiving the funding.